A New Series: Newsletter Tips for Missionaries

IMG_3905

A Series to Help Focus Your Story

Last Friday (June 12, 2015) I attended the Y’all Connect Conference on social media and blogging in Birmingham, Alabama. My expectations were high, but I was fully expecting all of the information I learned to be applicable mostly in social media and blogging.Then, in the third session of the conference, I attended a lecture by Taylor Robinson of Six Foot Five Productions on “Telling A Story” and found as I followed the lecture, that his advice could be applicable not only to a ministry or missionary’s social media, but also to all other fundraising medium’s including one that is vital to a missionary’s correspondence with his/her supporters: the Newsletter. With that in mind, I’m starting a series of tips on writing newsletters for ministry fundraising and updating purposes based off of what I learned at the conference, as well as what I’ve learned from reading and editing the newsletters of 40 missionaries throughout 2 and a half years of experience. I would appreciate any input or questions throughout the process, and feel free as always to put your input and questions in the comments on the blog, or on Facebook or Twitter. Follow the series by simply “following” the blog or liking “The Missions & Media Guy” Facebook page and @missionmediaguy on Twitter!  The first post will be coming soon, so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “A New Series: Newsletter Tips for Missionaries

  1. This is terrific!

    I don’t always do a good job of it, but I try to address my newsletter readers as though I’m talking with each person one on one. I think it should have a different feel than a blog post or Facebook update.

    Looking forward to your series.

    • Thank you so much, Wade!

      I agree with you on how you do your newsletters, I think a good newsletter makes the recipient feel as if they are a part of something bigger than they are, and making it feel as personal as possible is key. Unlike a Facebook post or blog post, a newsletter is something they can keep and hold in their hand, so using it to write a valuable and engaging story that inspires them can go a very long way!

  2. Pingback: Bloggers share lessons from 2015 conference, part 2 | Y'all Connect

Leave a Reply

